|
This blog is dedicated to revealing and destroying all forms of Malware; SPAM, VIRUS, Adware, Spyware.
|
Tired of browser viruses?
Click the button below and start using
a secure browser.
|
|
|
Copyright 2005 Randy Charles Morin
Part of the KBCafe blog network
|
I thought I'd follow up on the RightFielders scam I uncovered. BlogAds sent me an email, indicating they had previously received complaints about RightPundits and were already investigating the issue. They asked them to change the wording on their order page to remove any confusion. RightPundits made the change. Then I got an email from Mary McCain. They demanded my posts be taken down and that my allegations were false. And if I didn't, they would report me to BlogAds.
Today, I discovered an ad scam on the BlogAds network. I first came upon the fraudulent network a few weeks ago when I started to get a ton of referrers from them. When I checked into the referrers, it turned out it was referrer spam (not legit). I sent them an email to stop it, they turned off the switch and I stopped receiving a ton of (fake) referrers from them. Then I got an email from a reader informing me of potential impression fraud. I didn't really think twice of it as I get more emails than I can bother consuming. But the same day, I was checking out my blogs on the BlogAds network and discovered they were were making some good coin from their advertisers. It appears they are making more than $1000 per week on BlogAds. They are employing an array of tactics to defraud their advertisers. First, it appears they are using a botnet (or the likes of) to inflate hits, but I can't prove that. Second, they are placing premium ads in the bottom of sidebars of other irrelevant blogs on their network. This artificially inflates their numbers with impressions their advertisers would surely gag on, if they only knew. Their primary blog is called RightPundits, but they also have other blogs; RightFielders and RightCelebrity. If you advertise in one of their premium BlogAds units, then your ad will also appear on the other blogs, but further down the sidebar. In fact, it may appear more often down the sidebar of other blogs, then where the advertiser actually intended to place it. They do have text in some (not all) places that indicate that ads may be placed elsewhere, but the text is confusing at best.
They are also using AdSense, but only the link units. This is likely because Google would've quickly booted them if they were using a unit that might generate revenues for fake impression. They don't seem to be breaking any AdSense terms or policies. They are also using AdBrite, but less preeminently.
Today, I was playing around with various APIs for my reblinks website and I noticed that the SplogSpot API was always returning NOT a splog, even for splogs in their database. I tried to submit a bug report, but their captcha is too hard for humans (check it out). Then I noticed that their recently found splog and full splog database files were AWOL. I guess that project died.
Today, my website got comment spammed by David Lechner. This is the contact information in Tucows database. So, if you know this guy, then you know now that he's also a spammer.
lechner, david davidtl999@yahoo.com
1837 beverly circle
clearwater, FL 33764
US
+1.7274413467
Paul McDougall: Under the plan offered by the Software & Information Industry Association, anyone who unwittingly buys fake software from an online fraudster can receive up to $500 if they report the scam.
http://www.informationweek.com/software/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=205100007
Jason Schramm created a bookmarklets for reporting malicious downloads sites to Google.
http://www.jasonblogs.com/tech/security/report-malicious-sites-to-google-with-this-bookmarklet.html
Lately, I get so many invites on various social networks, that its becoming a part time job, just responding to the various stupidity. Most of the friend requests are from people I don't know and who don't know me. I often respond, "How do I know you?" I get three follow-ups from there.
Here's some rules that I follow.
Today, I'm at a campground in South Dakota and have found that they are blocking my own website (explanation follows).
For your families saftey the content of this website has been blocked by the Mt. Rushmore KOA and Palmer Gulch Resort.
URL:http://www.kbcafe.com/
Reason for restriction: Forbidden Category "Hacking/Proxy Avoidance Systems"
Hehe. I used Remote Desktop to post this from another computer. I guess they were right, but were lacking in their execution.
I've been doing some SERP data mining all morning. None of it was automated. All manual. Now Google thinks I'm a virus or spyware.
The #1 splogger in the blogosphere responded to one of my comments today. He responds "I'm really not spamming anyone. The only site that's mine is at elliottback.com/wp/".
| Top Articles | |
|---|---|